The Northland Sports Awards aim to recognise our Northland sportspeople's achievements yearly through the media and an online awards presentation on the Sport Northland Facebook page.

The Northland Sports Awards, which have been organised by Sport Northland since 1987, recognise, acknowledge, and celebrate Northland's very best sportspeople and administrators in the categories of Supreme Sportsperson, Sportswoman, Sportsman, Brian Maunsell Service to Sport, Garry Frew Memorial Junior Sportsperson of the Year, Team of the Year and Community Impact Awards.

Alongside these prestigious awards, one or two Northland Legends of Sport are inducted each year into the Northland Sports Hall of Fame, joining the 35 Northland Legends of Sport.


2023 CONBRIO Northland Sports Awards Finalists

CONBRIO Team of the Year

Northland Kauri - Rugby

Northland Senior Women's Team - Squash

Kensington Champion of Champion Fours - Lawn Bowls

Brian Maunsell Service to Sport

Liz Furey - Swimming 

Vicki Gribble - Hockey 

Garry Frew Memorial

Junior Sportsperson of the Year 


Alec Jackson - Alpine Ski Racing 

Hayden Ganley - Hockey 

Freddie Jameson - Squash 

Rory Woods - Rugby Union

Wikitoria Rogers - Rugby Union

FIRECO Sportswoman of the Year 

Diane Strawbridge - Lawn Bowls 

Krystal Murray - Rugby 

Lani Daniels - Boxing 

Kendell Heremaia - Basketball 

FIRECO Sportsman of the Year 

Troy Robertson - Boccia 

James Fisher-Harris - Rugby League 

Cameron Leslie - Swimming 

Tim Southee - Cricket 

Ofa Tu'ungafasi - Rugby 

Blair Tuke - Sailing 

Nominations for awards are to be made by Regional Sports Organisations. They are not open to public, aside from the Community Impact Award.

2023 CONBRIO Northland Sports Awards

Award Categories


FIRECO Sportswoman

FIRECO Sportsman

Garry Frew Memorial Junior Sportsperson

Brian Maunsell Memorial Service to Sport

CONBRIO Team of the Year

Pak'n'Save Whangarei - Community Impact Award

Past Winners

2022 Winners ... Click Here

2021 Winners ... Click Here

2020 - No Sports Awards due to COVID-19 interruptions 

2019 Winners ... Click Here

2018 Winners ... Click Here

2017 Winners ... Click Here

2016 Winners ... Click Here

​​​​​​​2015 Winners ... Click Here

2022 Winners